Activities supported by the Vietsch Foundation

Funded projects


Promoting research and development of advanced Internet technology for scientific research and higher education


The Vietsch Foundation will award a Medal of Honour on an annual basis.

All the winners

The Vietsch Foundation was created by Willem Karel Vietsch (1952-2014) through his last will and testament. The foundation was established on the day of his death, the 23th of February 2014.

Karel was very involved in the Internet community. He spent a large part of his life working in the area of research and education networking, which he help developing with his energy, creativity and thorough methodical approach. Sadly, his early death, put a stop to Karel's mission to support people and new developments, therefore he created the Vietsch Foundation, with the official objective of promoting "research into and development of advanced technology for scientific research and higher education”, in the widest sense.

Contact information

Postal Address: c/o Broekweg 125, 3131HD Vlaardingen, The Netherlands

Tax Identification Number (RSIN): 853821690

Chamber of Commerce Number (KvK-nummer): 60235861

Latest News Releases

The Vietsch Foundation awards the 2023 Medal of Honour to Arjan Xhelaj. The recipient of the 2022 medal of honour of the Vietsch Foundation is Arjan Xhelaj, founder, Director General and Chairman of the Governance Board of RASH, the Academic Network of Albania. The medal is awarded annually to people who have made a contribution of lasting value to the research and development of advanced Internet technology aimed to support science, research and higher education. The medal was presented to … read more

The Vietsch Foundation mourns the death of our dear friend and esteemed colleague Andrew Cormack, who has left us too early yesterday. Andrew has been a member of the Board of Trustees since the 6th of June 2016, and we were blessed with his competence, dedication and invaluable contributions. He was known to many of us from his outstanding work in networking security and privacy, and he was a considerate and gentle person with the gift of bringing people together. … read more